Carrot Ironfoundersson

Originally, Carrot was going to be a fiery red & orange, overlaid by a patina of dust. Really, that would have been appropriate for Captain Carrot. However, readers of the series have probably picked up that there’s more to him than being a Watchman. Sergeant Angua once smelled him in her wolf form & described it as soft pinks & greens. I really wanted to capture that, but there’s more to him. There’s the innocence & freshness of a soft sunrise, overlaid by the not at all subtle implication that he’s of royal descent. This is what I was going for in this version of Carrot Ironfoundersson; he’s more than a Watchman, he’s Carrot. So here he is;

 

I was curious what it knit up like, so I started a sock. I had hope to have it finished before I posted this, but I’m not a fast knitter these days. You can see seed stitch & stockinette.

I promised a while ago that I’d be posting 2 year old socks. Somehow I forgot to do that post, so I’ll show you those too while I’m here. I wear these in my work boots on a weekly basis and wash them in really harsh detergent because of the work I do;

My friend Celia made these for me. I love them so much, and I’m so glad I can still see the intricate cabling even after 2 years of hard wear. I did have to darn the toe because there were a couple of weeks when my toenail clippers had gone wayward, but that’s the only real wear these have shown. They’re made from Obedience. The colour has faded a bit, but I do owe that to heavy duty detergent. Normal wearers wouldn’t experience that. A note on miss Celia; she’s now designing up a storm (she did the Breathless pattern I’m so enamoured with) and I just love her stuff.

 

I spent the weekend dyeing up the second last installment of Twisted Disc. I’m going to take a brief hiatus from dyeing in order to update the shop after I’m done with this round of Twisted Disc, but I do intend to do a second round. I hope we’ll see you there!

About shamelesstwist

I'm a yarn fanatic, auto service technician, mother to 3 daughters, and sometimes I can pin words down to make sense to someone other than myself.
This entry was posted in Shameless Twist, Twist Disc. Bookmark the permalink.

Say something twisted

