My Yarn Shame

I know, I know. Shameless Twist expressing shame. BUT! I’m not expressing shame in my stash. I’m about to express shame in my absolute lack of ability to actually complete anything with it this year! Here. My WIPs. Let me show you them.

As you can see, I’m not averse to pirating needles from one project to use on another. The sparkly pink yarn you can see at the top there? I can’t even find the sock I’d started with the other half of that skein, but I know it’s around here somewhere so I had to include it. The navy next to it is a sock I started for my Dad in the hopes that I’ll get it done in time for christmas. See, my problem is that there are so many pretty yarns, and so many cool patterns, and I want to do them all RIGHT! NOW!

This has led to quite a few undoings. Let me show you this year’s frogs.

I have some of my own yarn there, some Nerd Girl, some Play at Life, some Wollmeise (did I spell that right?), some LRB and a bunch of them I’ve lost the labels for and have no idea what they are any more. It isn’t that I didn’t like the yarns (I think I’ve met one yarn I didn’t like. Only one.) or the patterns, I just didn’t have the oomph to actually finish the sock, or I needed the needles because something else caught my eye.

*I just realized that a leftover is in there. The brown/black with blue & orange flashes is actually from the Space Invader socks I did last year. Whoops.

I’d do something foolish and set a public goal of finishing one project every 2 weeks, but I know that would only lead to further disappointment and while it’s great to give people fodder for something to have a good chuckle about, I imagine I’d be pretty hard on myself for failing to meet a goal I know I can’t achieve even before it’s set. Here’s what I’m going to do instead; I’m going to make 2k 2p Inside Out socks with this yarn;

Woolhunter Walkabout Sock in Summer Madness

I will get these completed before I move onto any new projects. This does not mean I can’t divert my attention back to my DNA socks, but NO MORE NEW PROJECTS. Nevermind that I have 30, 4″ size 0 Dyakcraft DPNs which I had made specifically for my startitis issues.

I’ll do this, right? I mean, it’s only one pair of socks. Right?

 

Leave a comment and commiserate with me. I know I’m not the only knitter who is so entranced with all the colour & pattern combinations out there that she (or he) can’t get them finished before starting on a new one.

About shamelesstwist

I'm a yarn fanatic, auto service technician, mother to 3 daughters, and sometimes I can pin words down to make sense to someone other than myself.
This entry was posted in Indies, Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My Yarn Shame

  1. Josie says:

    I started a test shawlette with some Play at Life yarn back in early December. I’d meant to knit it nice and quickly, so that I could then whip out a second one for my mom for Christmas.
    I’m through ONE of the 3 charts, and 13 lines into the second chart.
    I ALSO have a single ALMOST-FINISHED sock in Loud and Proud from Play at Life, AND a pair of socks that I’m knitting in a striped colorway (I will never knit striped socks that require breaking the yarn every six rows again. EVER.) and two cowls, all of which are gorgeous, and all of which are unfinished because I keep getting new, pretty, lovely and exciting yarn that I want to play with.
    HELP ME, RHONDA. HELP ME!

  2. Fiona says:

    I’m terrible for doing this, and this year I made my mission to finish my WIPs before starting on *anything* else, with the express exception of baby blankets for my friends (a lot of them, for some reason). It’s not going too badly so far, *touch wood* but I’ve had to be ruthless.

  3. Hahahahaha, you are not alone! I have things lying around that I started 15 years ago, and still haven’t finished or frogged. And it’s always because I see something I NEED TO MAKE NAO! Luckily, I’ve been on a roll lately, finishing some stuff that’s been lying around for months or years, so I’m feeling productive 😉 Not as productive as I know I can be, but at least some stuff is getting finished.

    • shamelesstwist says:

      Heh. Berglind, I have a blanket I started crocheting for my parents about a decade ago. The pieces are still sitting in their basement, likely all soggy from a flood last year. I won’t be finishing that.

      My 2k 2p socks have had 3 toes now. I had to tweak a little bit because I couldn’t figure out what the directions for the toe meant (I’m still a n00b) and then when I did it my way, the toe ended up all square and the increases showed as lace on one side but not the other. So I’ve changed up the toe construction and I’m doing RL & LL increases instead of lifted bar increases. Hopefully I won’t goof them up a fourth time!

  4. KrisS says:

    I have no idea how many wips I have. But I do know after calling for replacement tips and cords, I ordered more tips and cords. WIPitis, I have it.

  5. jen says:

    I have more languishing WIPs than I would like to admit to!

Say something twisted

