Rincewind

Poor Rincewind. He’s always the one on the run, usually from someone who wants him to Do The Right Thing. Usually The Right Thing involves putting his own life in peril, and he’s just not the intentionally heroic type. I was going to do his colourway as a royal purple with some grey around the edges to reflect his Wizzard robe, but that just doesn’t reflect that the man is everywhere. Running clear out of his sandals on Fourecks, or going over the edge of the Rim, he’s the wizard in the filthy robe, covered in bruises and carrying dirt on him from all continents. He deserved more colour than just purple and grey.

 

A little story about this yarn. As I was putting the last batch in the pot, I was consulting my recipe book to make sure I wasn’t missing a step. I’d had a Bloody Stupid Johnson moment just the pot before and had forgotten a step which rendered those skeins unsalvageable for the colourway, and didn’t want that to happen again. As I was double checking, my book practically jumped out of my hand, bounced off the rim of the pot, and would probably have been saved if I hadn’t tried to save it and fumbled it instead. My recipe book, which was written in gel pen, went into the pot with the yarn. This is it for this style of Rincewind. As with the character, I’m going to have to attempt to reinvent it if I ever have occasion to dye it again.

 

Next entry, look forward to me showing off some 2 year old socks (you’ll see!) as well as my year in knitting. I apparently was only interested in one pattern. I’m sure you can guess which one that was.

About shamelesstwist

I'm a yarn fanatic, auto service technician, mother to 3 daughters, and sometimes I can pin words down to make sense to someone other than myself.
This entry was posted in Shameless Twist, Twist Disc. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rincewind

  1. Pingback: Revamping the shop! « Shameless Twist Yarns

  2. Pingback: Bandananananana @ Yarnscape Talks!

Say something twisted

