Olds Fibre Week, here I come!

I’ve spent the last 2 weekends dyeing for Twisted Disc and for the upcoming Olds Fibre Week. Over 100 skeins have gone into the pot, and I still have one day left for this weekend. Into the pot it all goes! I’ve had some beautiful stuff come out, so I’m looking forward to the reactions at Olds and then updating Shameless Twist when I return. While I’m still very much into the deep, sultry colours, I’m trying to expand into a spring-y feel for some of the new ones. I really never had any idea just how little attention I paid to the colours of spring until I went to make some flowery socks for my Mom a few months back and had to dye a skein just for her. I’m also seeing some accidental colours come out of the pot and trying desperately to recreate the beautiful ones. ::sigh:: I really need to start writing these things down.

Part of what I’ll be doing is developing a themed line (I’ll reveal the theme once it’s ready; it’s the brainchild of my middle daughter), the proceeds of which will go toward my oldest daughter going on a science trip to Florida. While I would normally look askance at her and say “what do you need to go there for? There’s science here in Canada!”, she’s wanted to be a forensic biologist since she was 6. When she first told me, I thought it would just be a phase, like when little girls say they want to be a ballerina, or a police officer (that’s my middle daughter’s career plan!) or a musician. However, 6 years later she’s still focusing on that as a career so I have to support this. As her Mom, I’m scared and excited for her (I think I live in the perpetual state of scared & excited. I need to mellow out a bit, maybe?) so it’s quite an ordeal for both of us. She’s been busting her butt around the house to earn the money to go, and will be involved in the yarn line.

 

EDIT: How could I have forgotten to mention this? I’m also planning colourways for my portion of the Tripping Yarn Balls collaborative club I’m doing with Play at Life Fiber Arts and Tyrannosaurus Knits!

About shamelesstwist

I'm a yarn fanatic, auto service technician, mother to 3 daughters, and sometimes I can pin words down to make sense to someone other than myself.
This entry was posted in Personal, Shameless Twist. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Olds Fibre Week, here I come!

  1. Nadine B. says:

    That is so amazing that she has stuck with it for that long. Florida does have quite a bit going for it in the realm of forensics. I’m part of a forensic science program and we send a lot of students to Florida for internships and a lot more there for jobs. I’m not very familiar with how different the lab set ups would be between the US and Canada, but if you have any questions let me know. I’ll see if I can help. I have my Masters in Forensics and the program I work for has a DNA lab attached.

    I think I’ll have to start saving my pennies to help her out.

    • shamelesstwist says:

      Yeah, she’s been reading as many biology textbooks as she could get for so long now. She even read through her Dad’s uni bio textbook! I don’t know why he had it; he took accounting courses. I know that she’ll have the option of working as a civvie or as an RC, and that her location will change depending on which one she decides on. Thanks for the info offer! I’ll ask her if she has any questions and if so, I’ll get in contact with you. She’ll be thrilled that I “know” someone in the field.

Say something twisted

